Club-S12 International S12OC United Kingdom ClubS12 France S12Silvia Australia S12.org.ua Eastern Europe S12 of Sweden S12 Japan BBS
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Engine Swap Help?  (Read 5969 times)

Offline Higer025

• n00b
Engine Swap Help?
« on: 11:12:17 PM / 30-Nov-12 »
Hi Guys, I have an old Nissan Silvia S12 from my Grandpa here in the Philippines, and I'm having a hard time finding parts for the CA engine.

Now, I want to swap my CA18DE to RB25DET(we found an importer),

Of course, I've read some post too... most of them are saying "If you got enough money", "cutting this and that... for something to fit" and "need for new parts to fit it (mostly transmission)"...

My concern is (sorry I'm a newbie :( at car engine swaps),

What would be the:
  • services required (like cutting this and rebuilding that...),
  • modifications in the chassis (where parts wont fit),
  • new parts (like radiators, turbo ans stuff, and from what cars? >.<)
  • estimated time frame for this project (I don't need it be rushed, it is just my father's concern)

I appreciate any help, I'm looking forward to learn too from your help posts too :))

Facebook Share    

Offline Arro

• Administrator
  • S12 Guru
  • Vehicle: 1985 Nissan 200SX
    • http://www.cardomain.com/id/arro200sx
Re: Engine Swap Help?
« Reply #1 on: 12:11:01 AM / 01-Dec-12 »
Seriously, if you are asking these kinds of questions, and you aren't willing to fork over ridiculous amounts of money to a shop, then this isn't the swap for you. Sell the engine to someone who has swap experience. Lots of swap experience.

I also tend to think that when you rely on money and other people to do the work for you, you are inadvertently subject to their biases about how to do things. In the end, all you tend to know is what you've read and been told, and not what you have actually done.