Timing Belt

Started by deucekazoo, 03:07:35 PM / 05-Jan-16

Previous topic - Next topic

deucekazoo

I need to do a timing belt once spring hits and was just wondering how hard it is to do? Can I tackle it my self or would it be better to have the dealership do it? If I do it myself should I get a timing belt from the dealership or is there a better aftermarket kit? I am not a mechanic but do a lot of my own work on cars, but have never done a timing belt. So seeing what my plan of attack should be. Also should I replace anything else while I am in there?
Thanks,
John

rednucleus

Basic mechanical skills and tools are all that's needed. Should do belt, tensioner & water pump all at same time while there. Believe same procedure as for the ca20. Need to pull the crank pulley off to get the timing cover off and access the belt & water pump. Pull radiator to make getting at everything easier.  Get an FSM if yo don't have one yet, explains things well and good pics.

weitrhino

^^^ What he said. Anybody can do this job with a little mechanical aptitude although you might find you need a gear puller. Buy one if you don't already have one. It's really worth it not to hassle without one.

kelso840

I've got some detailed pictures of the teardown process on the first page of my build thread. I had... other issues upon reassembly but the photos will be illustrative of what you'll be doing nonetheless.

I could tear it down in less than an hour now that I've done it so many times. First try was probably closer to three hours figuring in a couple trips to AutoZone for the chain wrench and a pulley kit I wound up not using. 100% recommend using a chain wrench

http://club-s12.org/retro4/index.php?topic=38060.0
Infrequently driving an s12.

deucekazoo