total noob to suspension

Started by YellowPreludeR, 01:45:47 PM / 23-Jul-04

Previous topic - Next topic

YellowPreludeR

somehow I built a CA20ET and the rest of the car, but never put anything into  the suspension.  Now being a  total noob, tell me if this is just craz, or if it will \"do\" for a year while im at college and just need my car.

Right now when you jump on any corner of the car, it almost or does bottom out.  I know it, and its bad. Here is what I wanna do.

1) Go to AutoZone and get new shocks. The stock OEM replacements. Nothing fancy
2) Cut 1/2 coil off the top and bottom of each spring. I hear it stiffin\'s the springs, but also makes them more fragile over time. Suggestions, comments, they are all welcome.

Will these 2 things make my ride a little more comfortable for the time being?  I think it can all be done for like under $30.

If you have a better way to go, let me know. Thanks.

Im not that interested in lowering the car right now, but that 1/2 coil cut would make it just right.
--Yellow--
Current Car : 1984 BMW 533i Turbo /w custom M30B34
[Oo=00=oO]
Old ride : 1985 Nissan 200sx Turbo /w custom CA20ET
  (O=O/ S-12 O=O)

Dan0myte

The Nissan FSM lists three different shock and spring combinations. Nissan tuned each car to it\'s purpose. The CA20 cars got very weak springs and low rebound shocks, but a large rear swaybar. The Turbo models got super stiff springs and higher rebound shocks, but a smaller rear swaybar. The V6 model got thicker and longer springs to hold the extra weight, but aren\'t very stiff. It also got shocks similar to the CA20 in compression, but stronger in rebound (again because of the weight).